11 Jun

Different Banking Codes

Check out Different Indian Banking Codes:

[1] IFSC (Indian Financial System Code): Indian Financial System Code is an alpha-numeric code that uniquely identifies a bank-branch participating in the NEFT system.
This is an 11 digit code with the first 4 alpha characters representing the bank, The 5th character is 0 (zero).and the last 6 characters representing the bank branch.
IFSC is used by the NEFT system to identify the originating / destination banks / branches and also to route the messages appropriately to the concerned banks / branches.
For ex: PNBN0014976 :
i. First 4 character PNBN – refers to Punjab
National Bank.
ii. 0 is a control number.
iii. last six characters (014976) represents the PNB branch kurshi Road, Lucknow.
[2] MICR – Magnetic ink character Recognition :-
MICR is 9 digit numeric code that uniquely
identifies a bank branch participating in electronic clearing scheme.
Used to identify the location of a bank branch.
City (3) Bank (3) Branch (3)
The MICR code is allotted to a bank branch is printed on the MICR band of cheques.
MICR used for electronic credit system.
[3] SWIFT Code :- Society for worldwide Interbank financial tele- communication.
India was 74th Nation to join SWIFT Network.
SWIFT Code is a standard format of bank Identifier code. This code is used particularly in International
transfer of money between banks.
A majority of FOREX related message are sent to correspondent banks abroad through SWIFT.
SWIFT Code consist 8 or 11 character when code is 8 digit, It is referred to primary office
4 – bank code
2 – country code
2 – location code
3 – branch code (optional).

Please share this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *